Gluten-Free Holidays

Despite our complete lack of posting, we’re actually still trying to be gluten free. Sort of. Well, Molly always is. Jen’s doing better than I am . . .

Anyway, we’re still here, and I’ve actually made some gluten-free foods over Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. I took pictures. I did not blog. But I have big plans.

Meanwhile, here’s my list of holiday successes and failures:

GF stuffing: yes!

GF biscuits: fail

GF homemade fried onions for green bean casserole: yes!

GF crock pot mac and cheese: Epic. Fail.

GF chocolate peanut butter cake: yes!

Image

This was a bit of an experiment; I’ll try to recreate what I did and post the recipe:

Cake

1 cup GF flour: 1/4 c brown rice flour, 1/4 c white rice flour, 1/4 c oat flour, 1/4 c potato starch (you may need a little more to thicken batter)

1/6 cup cocoa:  I took my 1/3 cup and eye-balled it

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/6 cup coconut oil, melted

1/2 cup water

1/2 tbsp vinegar

1/2 tbsp vanilla

Filling/frosting

I didn’t measure this part even a little. I melted butter, semi-sweet chocolate chips, almond milk, one square of bakers chocolate, and a big hunk of peanut butter into creamy deliciousness.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a small baking dish. Mix all the dry cake ingredients, and then add the remaining ingredients and stir. Pour half into a small round baking dish, and then pour and spread a portion of the chocolate peanut butter filling on cake batter. Pour remaining cake batter in dish and bake for 20 to 30 minutes or until the toothpick comes out clean.

Cool for ten minutes and then transfer to cake plate. When cooled completely, cover with remaining peanut butter chocolate deliciousness and enjoy!

What Do You Think?

