Slow Cooking Crazy Update–1 Month In

So I’m one month into my Slow Cooking Crazy experiment. So far so good. Not every recipe has been the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten, but it all has been edible, hot, and ready when I get home from work–which is heaven for a busy girl like me.

I have learned a few things so far and I wanted to share them with you:
1.) I may have overestimated what will fit in my freezer. The door now has a tendency to pop open anytime anyone shuts the fridge door too hard. Luckily, that’s happening less and less often as we’ve eaten some of my stash!
2.) Freezing seems to dilute flavors, so, for my next round, I may increase herbs and spices by about 30%. And, in the meantime, I’m adding a little extra when I defrost and cook.
3.) I’m not great at eating leftovers. Too many times in a row of eating the same thing makes me bored and kinda grossed out. Husband is much better than me in this regard, but I still think I need to reduce the portions in each bag for the next round.
4.) I have got to get better at remembering to make quick runs to the store for fresh veggies. I’ve missed them and some fresh greens at each meal would probably make my leftovers more palatable.

All in all, this whole thing gets a big thumbs up–from me and Husband. He’s thrilled that I’m less stressed and that I’ve been spending much more time hanging out with him and less time in the kitchen. Of course, he’s not really a picky eater–so that helps.

Has anyone else tried this or anything like this? Was it successful for you?

What Do You Think?

