Peanut-, Almond-, and Every-Kind-of-Nut-Butter Recall (and a Little Something About Eggs)

I’m pretty sure everyone has heard about the Trader Joe’s peanut butter recall, which has expanded to include waaaaayyyy more than just a couple of TJ’s peanut butters. It appears that nut butters from Sunland, Inc., which manufactures for multiple brands, are the source of the recall. It’s up over one hundred products now. Almond butter has been a staple in my home the last year, so I’m definitely concerned about what products are in my home. You can keep up to speed on additional recalls and added products (cookies, etc.) HERE.

Also, as part of my minimal contribution to this blog, I wanted to share an interesting article I read last week about whether organic eggs are a scam. It has made me think about how loosely the buzzword organic is thrown around without a clear definition attached to it. I want to be more mindful of where my food comes from, for health reasons and because I think animals who provide sustenance for me should be treated humanely. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this article.

This infographic at the end of the article condenses down some of the info:

Has the peanut butter recall affected you? What are your thoughts on humane and cruelty-free farming and ranching? 

This entry was posted in Healthy and tagged , , , , by Jen. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jen

Editor. Home chef. Crafter. Knitter. Reader. Mama to Feral Charlie. All-around nerd. Fan of kittens, purses, potato chips, Coca-Cola, shiny shoes, yarn, fingernail polish, sour cream, spelling contests, poached eggs, clean bathrooms, fresh herbs, giant steaks, lip gloss, Zac Efron, mac 'n' cheese, salami, and semicolons.

What Do You Think?

