Restaurant Review: The Wild Cow

I giggled writing this entry’s title–not because it is at all funny, but because, I must confess,  I can’t spell restaurant without spell-check help to save my life. Seriously, I have no idea how I became a book editor with that handicap! Another confession: I LOVE eating out. I absolutely adore going to a restaurant, sitting somewhere comfy, and having a nice waiter bring me anything I want. You’d think working in restaurants as a teenager would have cured me, but I am still an eat-out addict. It just makes me happy. However, gluten-free dining out can often be more challenging than pleasurable. So, with that in mind, I’m going to give you the skinny on all my favorite dining establishments (now, that I can spell!) in and out of Nashville!

First up is East Nashville’s The Wild Cow, a vegetarian restaurant. Let me preface this by saying that I am a meat lover, but I am a frequent Wild Cow visitor anyway because the food is just that good. They have an entire gluten-free menu (just ask for it instead of the regular one) and are very helpful when it comes to accommodating my other food allergies as well.

The Basics:

  • The Wild Cow is open everyday for lunch and dinner except Tuesdays.
  • They are located in a cute shopping center right next to Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream (yum!).
  • The restaurant has a laid-back, casual vibe so no need to get dressed up for dinner here.
  • They offer gluten-free appetizers, salads, entrees, and delicious desserts. You can check out the menu here!

My Recommendations:

The Prince Fielder Sandwich: Marinated & grilled tempeh or tofu, avocado, tomato, sprouts, cucumbers, shredded carrots, onions, vegenaise, & spicy mustard on gluten-free bread; served with one side item. The gluten-free bread is light and fluffy with a nutty texture and the spicy mustard is delicious!

 

 The Buffalo Grinder: Marinated & grilled tempeh or tofu, lettuce, tomato, shredded carrots, ranch dressing, & our homemade zesty buffalo sauce on gluten-free bread; served with one side item. The sauce has a nice kick to it, but it isn’t too spicy and the ranch dressing is really good and tangy!

 

Veggie & Quinoa Bowl: Grilled vegetable mix (includes cauliflower, broccoli, and onions) over organic quinoa; drizzled with our garlic aioli, ginger miso or green goddess dressing. I LOVE their garlic aioli and you can add grilled tofu or tempeh for a little extra protein. I’ve heard good things about each of the different sauces. One thing to note is that the veggies are pre-mixed, so you can’t ask for “no onions.”

I also highly recommend any and all of their gluten-free desserts. They change out the flavors of their cakes and cupcakes regularly, and they are all delicious. I’m an especially big fan of their strawberry cupcakes!

 

Lavender Vanilla Cupcake (non gluten-free, but their gluten-free cupcake look similar!)

 

 

 

 

 

Gluten-Free Tiramisu

 

 

 

 

 

Gluten-Free German Chocolate Cake

 

 

So next time you are craving an especially delicious and healthy meat-free meal, head on over to the Wild Cow. Just do yourself a favor, and save room for dessert!

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: The Wild Cow

  1. If you live in the Nashville area, I highly recommend you stop by and try the Wild Cow, especially the dessert! The GF German chocolate cake was fantastic!

    • Hear hear! I can’t wait to go again so I can try the sandwich Molly had. I loved the ginger miso sauce on the grilled veggie/quinoa bowl. Insanely good (and the garlic is guaranteed to keep the vampires away!). I got a piece of gluten-free chocolate chip cheesecake there last weekend, and it was divine.

What Do You Think?

