Confessions Part II . . . and Breakfast

My second confession is that I eat a lot, both in quantity and frequency.

When I was younger I used to be a little self-conscious about it, but somewhere between college and early adulthood I got over it. And now I seem to have quite the reputation. A couple years ago during a colleague’s going away party, he mentioned with a grin that he had to transfer departments because, “MacKenzie always ate all the food at the parties.” Early in our marriage, my husband would raise an eyebrow at dinner and say, “Are you seriously going to eat all of that?” Almost seven years later, he mostly just scrapes his leftovers onto my plate when he’s finished.

So anyway, for everyone else out there who has a large appetite and who is trying to make nutritious and gluten-free decisions, I thought I’d share a list of some breakfast ideas.

Some people actually suggest it’s better for your metabolism to eat many small meals throughout the day. I wouldn’t say that I necessarily eat small meals, but I do eat pretty often. I used to just eat a yogurt for breakfast at my desk in the mornings, but since I’ve tried to cut out most of my gluten and dairy intake, I sometimes eat at home and when I get to work.

Here are a few things I like:

• Scrambled eggs with goat cheese
• Fresh, homemade smoothies—these are not as time-consuming as you would think, and they are really filling
• Van’s Gluten-free Waffles—these are great with butter and agave or honey chevre
• An apple with almond butter
• A banana

Of this list, I usually need to pick at least two. We’ll be sure to share some of our smoothie recipes.

What are your favorite breakfast foods?

What Do You Think?

