A New Venture, in Life and Blog

Last week, over lunch with a couple of coworkers at The Wild Cow, a local vegetarian eatery, all three of us decided to order gluten-free treats to take with–a chocolate cupcake and a piece of vanilla raspberry cake. Each. We reasoned that since we aren’t in that part of town often, we might as well stock up. One of us remarked that it was so gluttonous to be walking out with six desserts between the three of us, but hey, at least we’re gluten-free gluttons!

Aren’t we so clever? Just nod and say yes. We’re so dang clever that we thought this would be a great blog name and decided it might be fun to take it for a spin and see if it goes anywhere. I’m an infrequent blogger over at my own place, so I’m not sure I can make any promises. However, some lifestyle changes over the last four months as well as cancer among friends and family have me pretty obsessed lately with food and herbs and general well-being. That may be just enough motivation to spark frequent-ish posts.

It all started on October 10, 2011, with a delicious and beautiful cake pop. (My nails looked really good that day too.)

It tasted fantastic. And my mouth started swelling up within a couple hours–lips, tongue, roof of mouth. (It’s a good thing I didn’t eat the second one I took home.) The next morning my mouth was painful and swollen, so I went to a clinic and was put on prednisone and massive doses of Benadryl for what the doc believed to be an allergic reaction to food dye. Unfortunately, the treatment only sent my body into a further tailspin (I won’t go into details here–to sum up, prednisone = terrible). I ended up stopping the prednisone and the swelling went down, leaving raw skin in its wake, but even benign foods like apples began to make my lips swell. Fed up with Western medicine’s tactics, I decided to go visit a naturopath (otherwise known as Dr. WooWoo).

And then everything changed…

That’s the beginning of my journey, one that initially included a lot of whining and misery and detoxing because of the dramatic diet changes (and a lot of annoying my coworkers with the whining–I think that might be part of what made a couple of them ultimately join me in this lifestyle change, just to see what all the whining was about). All that bellyaching and un-fun detoxing came to a good result–an amazing result really. I am in a much happier and healthier place, where I am now gluten-free, mostly sugar-free, and mostly dairy-free (I’ll share more about my eating plan in a later post). I am completely off the medication for my Hashimoto’s and have never felt better. My head is clear, and I actually feel like my brain is working better. I am sleeping  for the first time in fifteen years. I feel AWESOME. Seriously. (If you know me in real life, especially in the past, I’m not a feel-awesome kind of person by nature. I’m a lay-on-the-couch-all-day-and-eat-chips kind of person.) I haven’t had another allergic reaction since I eliminated gluten, sugar, and dairy from my diet. And I have become obsessed with sharing my transformation and all this wellness-for-the-taking with others. For me, going gluten-free isn’t a fad. I believe I can manage my food allergies, my seasonal allergies, my thyroid, and my physical and emotional well-being by tending to my body in a way I had never considered before. The naturopath hasn’t told me I need to be gluten-free for life, but I’m definitely considering it. And strangely, I don’t feel deprived at all. In fact, I’m enjoying food in a whole new way, fascinated by all the creativity of learning to cook in this new dynamic.

So that’s what I’m here for. I’ll be sharing about my experiences, what I’m learning, and lots of recipes. If you’re going to live this way, you have to cook (which I already loved), but you have to cook in a new way. At first this annoyed me, but now I find it kind of exciting. I feel like some kind of wizard in my own kitchen.

The plan is for four of us to blog here. Only one of us is professionally gluten-free (she has hardcore celiac). The rest of us are kind of a domino effect of my initial diet changes. We all feel better, have lost weight, and are happier and healthier overall. We figure this will be a great place to share recipes and stories. I hope you’ll come along for the ride.

This entry was posted in celiac, gluten-free and tagged , , , , by Jen. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jen

Editor. Home chef. Crafter. Knitter. Reader. Mama to Feral Charlie. All-around nerd. Fan of kittens, purses, potato chips, Coca-Cola, shiny shoes, yarn, fingernail polish, sour cream, spelling contests, poached eggs, clean bathrooms, fresh herbs, giant steaks, lip gloss, Zac Efron, mac 'n' cheese, salami, and semicolons.

4 thoughts on “A New Venture, in Life and Blog

  1. Wow! Jen, I had no idea that you were feeling THAT much better since you went gluten-free. I’m looking forward to following this blog and hearing more! Best wishes with your cooking and your eating. 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Setback and Some Perspective | Gluten-Free Gluttons

  3. Pingback: Gluten-Free Gluttons

  4. Pingback: Phase 1: Detoxing for Dummies | Gluten-Free Gluttons

What Do You Think?

